Board of Directors.

The Legacy Chorale of Greater Minnesota is overseen by a volunteer board of directors who collectively lead the organization through strategic planning, and who work together to implement the vision, goals, and objectives of the organization. Current members of the Board of Directors are: 

President – Jennifer Pedersen  – jennifer@legacychorale.org
Vice President – Stephen Larson – stephen@legacychorale.org
Secretary – Vicki Fox – vicki@legacychorale.org
Treasurer – Mary Anderson – mary@legacychorale.org
Member – Jerry Jensen – jerry@legacychorale.org
Member – Bradford Folta – bradford@legacychorale.org
Member – Becky Bergstrom – becky@legacychorale.org

Michael Smith, Artistic Director

Michael became the second artistic director of The Legacy Chorale of Greater Minnesota in 2022. He has had a lengthy career as a high school and collegiate choral director, holding positions at Aitkin High School, Brainerd High School, Willmar High School, Brainerd Community College, and Concordia College-Moorhead. Michael received a Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Olaf College, Master of Arts in Music degree from the University of Northern Colorado, and has completed all but the dissertation for his Ph.D. in Music Education from the University of Minnesota. In 2014, he was a recipient of the prestigious F. Melius Christiansen Lifetime Achievement award.

Laura Raedeke, Accompanist
has an M.A. in Music Theory and Composition and has been The Legacy Chorale accompanist since its founding in 2002 and has served as organist for Lutheran Church of the Cross in Nisswa and First Congregational UCC in Brainerd. As a composer, she has produced vocal, instrumental, and organ works. 

Kennedy Niska, Assistant Director & Legacy Youth Chorale Director
Kennedy joined the staff of The Legacy Chorale of Greater Minnesota in July 2022. He brings to the chorale experience in church music, community theater, and elementary classroom music. Kennedy holds a bachelor of music degree from Concordia College-Moorhead. He is looking forward to expanding youth music programming in the Brainerd Lakes area, starting as founding director of The Legacy Youth Chorale, an ensemble for young people in grades 3-5.